Navratri: 9 Days, 9 Goddesses, 9 Colours


India is a land rich in tradition and culture, vibrant festivals and energetic celebrations. Navratri, a Sanskrit word literally meaning “Nine Nights”, is an important Hindu festival of worship and dance, celebrating the victory of good over evil. During each of these nine nights, nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped. Every day, she assumes a new avatar, a new look, and a new duty.

Since each day is dedicated to a particular form of Goddess Durga, each day has a different colour attached to it. Every colour represents a particular quality of the Goddess and so devotees wear clothes and decorate their idols in the stipulated colour, corresponding to the colour of the Devi’s garments.

As with all festivals, it is important to know the significance of everything we do. We provide you with a list of nine colours of Navratri in 2015, as well as their significance.

Day 1 – Shailputri

Goddess Durga is worshipped as Shailputri. ‘Shail’ means mountains and ‘Putri’ stands for daughter. She rides on a bull with a ‘trishul’ in her hand, representing ‘Action’. As per tradition, people wear red on this day and offer ghee to the goddess. Being vibrant and rich, donning red is a great way to get the excitement amped up for the days to follow.

Day 2– Brahmacharini

Signifying care, love and loyalty, Goddess Durga wears royalblue in the form of Goddess Brahmacharini. She carries a rosary and ‘khumba’ in her hand and wears ornaments made from the sacred beads of ‘Rudraksha’. The name of the goddess translates to ‘strict piousness,’ so people wear deep blue garments as per religion and offer sugar.

Day 3– Chandraghanta

Known for peace and tranquillity, Goddess Chandraghanta is worshipped on the 3rd day. She has three eyes and 10 hands, with a half circular moon on her forehead. In order to embody the beauty of the moon, people wear golden yellow and offer milk sweets to the goddess.

Day 4– Kushmanda

On this day, Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped on a tiger. She stands for the universe, which is depicted by the devotees wearing green. Malpua sweets are offered.

Day 5– Skanda Mata

Maa Skanda, is called the ocean of wisdom. She sits with her son in her lap, which is why she is known as ‘Maa’ or mother. It is traditional to wear grey, a soothing colour like the still ocean.

Day 6Katyayani

Goddess Durga appears in her sixth form and is known to fulfil the desire of unmarried girls for a good husband. Goddess Katyayani is revered and single girls observe fasting to please her. Orange, being an auspicious colour in Hinduism, is traditionally worn on this day and honey is offered.

Day 7– Kaalratri

Maa Kaalratri is known as the destroyer of ignorance and darkness. Adorned in white, she brings light to the lives of her devotees. Devotees wear white in the hope of getting the obstacles in their lives removed.

Day 8– Mahagauri

On the 8th day of Navratri, people worship the Goddess Gauri. Embodying compassion and harmony, she holds a drum in one hand and a trident in the other. Being extremely beautiful, pink is worn to represent her calmness and beauty.

Day 9– Siddhidatri

Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped on the last day of Navratri, who is believed to be the goddess of power. Devotees wear sky blue on the last day of the festival for the Goddess who stands on a lotus in the water.

Wearing the Navratri colours enhances one’s participation in the celebrations and brings about a feeling of oneness. The spirit of Navratri inculcates unity and togetherness in people, giving them a source of shared joy and happiness.

You can explore more festive jewellery options under JewelOnline at www.eves24.com or call us on +91 84509 97666 to set up an appointment to visit our studio.

You Might Also Like